Springing

Happy first day of spring!

I’ve been on vacation for the last week-and-a-half. I took a short beach trip to my aunt and uncle’s with my mom and a good friend. Other than that, I’ve been editing, reading, resting and generally enjoying living sans alarm clock. I’ve also been doing some reflecting.

As we move into warmer temperatures, I’ve decided to back off of blogging and go back into “check in” mode for a while.

Last time I did this, I was overwhelmed with trying to finish the book.  My reasons are a little different this time. I COULD blog regularly and finish editing the book.  Editing isn’t taking all my creative energy the way that telling the story did. There are blog posts in me. But to write them on top of editing and doing my day job involves too much time sitting on my butt.

The truth is, as the weather gets better, I just want some time to get off my ass more. I work a desk job that involves staring at a computer all day, and my fellow writers know that the first step in editing is gluing yourself to your chair.  While the gettin’ is good weatherwise, I want time to MOVE. I want to garden and get in some outdoor walking and enjoy the season before the pleasant days of spring and early summer give way to the Swampass Season of muggy Maryland summertime.

Exercise and physical fitness have taken a backseat for the last year. Writing a book in the spare moments between long hours at a dayjob will do that. I’m going to give my body some time in the limelight. It has been good to me while I’ve taken on this endeavor. It avoided cold and flu-bugs even when surrounded by sick folks at work. It got a little softer as I ignored its need for activity, but it hung in there.

Time to pay back the favor.

Happy Spring, my friends! I’ll check in from time-to-time, but for now I’ll be splitting my free time between editing the book and moving my butt.  See you soon!

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Creativity, Exercise, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Springing

  1. Sometimes you just have to get up off the chair so that when you sit back down, things flow better. Balance is the key, right?

  2. l'empress says:

    What you do is, start a list of subjects you want to write about — you can do them later or decide they weren’t that important. I do that all the time. I have fragments of posts that I will never publish, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

