Unsettling Anthology Update

I am still on a blogging moratorium as I work on editing my book, but I could not in good conscious not post an update about this here.

Rather than go into the details, I’ll just say that it seems “The Spirit of Poe Anthology” in which I was published was not what it was cracked up to be. I never received a contributor’s copy and according to the post linked here neither did most of the other writers included in the book. Contributors were not paid. In my contract I had waived my payment as a donation to the Poe House, so I hadn’t caught on to that fact.

According to the comments posted http://guidohenkel.com/2012/09/the-spirit-of-poe-a-major-bust at  the Poe House was in no way a part of this anthology.

Am I glad that the call-out for stories inspired me to write the piece that was included? Absolutely.

But because I touted this book as a charitable anthology in the live-and-learn belief that what I was being told as a contributor was the truth, I want everyone to know that the claims made about what was being done with its proceeds are apparently not true, and that other contributors who expected payment did not in fact receive it according to their commentary on this post.

I am still proud of my story and of the spirit in which I and many other contributors poured our hearts into works for this publication. But I am saddened by end end result.

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unsettling Anthology Update

  1. Jeff says:

    I suppose there is nothing that can be done about this? It doesn’t lessen my enjoyment of the book, but it is sad that so many people were deceived like this.

Leave a Reply

