LLC Milestone Winners and Other News

Happy Friday, friends!

No regular post today, but I do have a few updates and announcements to wind down this first week of our new year!

1. First and foremost, the winners of my Life List Club Milestone Giveaways are Melissa Sugar-Gold and Terri Sonada.  They will each receive their choice of the opportunity to be interviewed or do a guest post here at Hawleyville, OR to receive a guest post from me for their blogs on the topic of their choosing. I’ll be in touch with each of you to work out the details!

I’d also like to say thanks to everyone who subscribes, follows, and just drops in now and then! I know we’re all super-busy and there’s a ton of places to hang out on the web, so the fact that you make this one of your stops means a lot to me.

2. Please join me in celebrating the upcoming publication of The Spirit of Poe Anthology. The anthology will be published on January 19, 2012, which just happens to be Poe’s birthday. This collection of “the best in psychological, visceral and supernatural” horror, both fiction and poetry, includes my short story “Peanut Butter and Jelly.” To get more information or to order your copy (proceeds go to the Edgar Allan Poe House and Museum here in Baltimore), please visit Literary Landmark Press.

3. There are a few things a writer with a day job – especially one who has yet to publish a book-length work – should not do. One of those things is probably trying to have two books-in-progress at once.

I’m roughly a third of the way through “The Naked Man-Whore Chronicles,” having hammered away at it this summer and fall in between completing several short stories. My goal has been to have a finished first draft by July 2012. But about a month ago, I woke up with an idea that just wouldn’t shut up and go away.

Normally, I’d make some notes about this new project and set it aside until the first draft of Man-Whore was complete. The problem is, there’s a timliness to the new idea that just won’t let it rest. So I find myself faced with having two projects going at once.

If you’d to know more about the new project, “No Tomorrow,” please visit my book-length fiction page.

4. Finally, please welcome the newest member of the Life List Club, Lara Schiffbauer! Generally, the Life List Club brings on one new writer per month to join our guest blogging round robins. If any of you think you may be interested in participating, please let me know and I’ll put you in touch with our coordinators!  

5. Now, for the not-so-fun part. My dear grandfather passed away earlier this week. We are having funeral services in West Virginia next week. In order to spend time with my family and do what we need to do while still keeping up with my normal dosages of day job crazy, I have chosen to take a blog hiatus next week. This means I won’t be one of the bloggers posting in the first Life List Club Blog Hop of 2012 on Friday, January 13th. But I’ll definitely be reading everyone’s posts to see how my fellow LLCers are progressing in the New Year, and I hope you will too! Just come on by and check out my LLC blog roll.

I will be back in full posting swing on Tuesday, January 17th. Until then, happy writing and reading!

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Books, Creativity, Fiction, Goal-Setting, The Life List Club, The Naked Man-Whore Chronicles, Writing, Writing A Novel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to LLC Milestone Winners and Other News

  1. l'empress says:

    For some reason, an awful lotof commercials are telling me that this or that or something else is “the end of the world as we know it.” Just about everything that happens in my life is the end of the world as I know it; I embrace the new and exciting. And, frankly, I think that someone has to search a little harder for the missing stones. December 22 will be my eldest’s 43d birthday, and the only thing that will keep me from seeing that is my own demise, not the end of the world.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I feel the same way – actually, the premise of this new story is what happens to someone who falls into the doomsday trap and does things they would never do because they believe the world is coming to an end. And then, of course, it doesn’t.

  2. Stacy Green says:

    I’m so sorry about your grandfather. No matter the age or the cause. Take care of yourself, and congrats on the great progress you’ve made this year.

  3. Jeff says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about your grandfather. I almost cried at work when I read that. I hope you have a safe trip. I look forward to seeing your blog again in a week or so. I’m also looking forward to reading your book. The title brings up all kinds of images in my mind.

    Take care. You’ll be in my prayers next week.

  4. Jess Witkins says:

    Hey Pam! Lots to celebrate here like the big darn deal of having another fiction piece published! We have a new LLC member, you’ve got two new bloggers to introduce us to. And you and your family will be celebrating the life of your grandfather. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this time. Take care of yourself, Pam.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Thank you Jess! You are so right – traveling to West Virginia to be with my family there and celebrate my grandfather’s life in addition to mourning his loss has been such a wonderful, healing experience for us all. I was amazed and touched beyond belief to see how many of his and my grandmother’s former classmates (class of 1948!!!) came out to be with us and comfort my grandmother.

  5. Thank you for the kind welcome, Pam! I look forward to getting to know and work with everyone this year. Congrats on your upcoming release, and I’m sorry for your loss.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Thanks Lara! Sorry for the delay in getting your comment in – I have been offline pretty much for the last two days. Am slowly getting back in business and really look forward to getting to know you too!

  6. Lafemmeroar says:

    Sharing this on the CC FB page 🙂

  7. Terri Sonoda says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather, Pamela. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. I will, of course, be looking forward to your return to the blog, but in the meantime, know that I’m thinking of you.
    Terri
    P.S. Go Broncos. Aren’t you a Pittsburgh fan? or am I mistaken?

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Terri – yep, I’m a rabid Pittsburgh fan : ). I almost made myself too hoarse to speak at my Grandad’s funeral screaming through that game! But congrats on the victory! Tebow is amazing and I had even posted a Facebook comment along the lines of “I really like Tebow, just not this week” a few days before the game. And I’m wishing you and the Broncos the same kind of game against the Patriots, for sure! I’m a little more torn if they take the Pats and go on to face the Ravens because so many of my hometown friends here in Baltimore want it so bad, but I’d be happy either way. As long as it isn’t the Pats – guess that makes me both nice and evil : )!

  8. Condolences on your grandfather. Loss is never easy, no matter when, no matter whom.

Leave a Reply

