I’m Thankful for …Ice Water

 

Welcome to another round of Life List Friday. This week, I’m both happy and thankful to be once again hosting the most awesome Jess Witkins . Once you’ve visited with Jess here, hop on over and see me and my pink house at Marcia Richard’s  place. Then just keep following our sidebars to visit the other Life Listers for more inspiration on meeting your goals and achieving your dreams.

Happy Friday! Take it away, Jess!

___________

Thanksgiving is just around the corner, but I try to practice it every day.  Not the mass consumption of food covered with gravy, no, if I did that I’d look like this!

You are what you eat. (Photo courtesy Google Images)

But I do try to be thankful every day for at least five things.  I started a gratitude journal about 2 years ago.  I make a list each day for the five things I’m most grateful for and somehow, no matter how awful the day may seem, I can be glad that those five things occurred.  

But let’s be honest, sometimes we have really bad days!  And when you work in retail over the holidays, holidays?  What are holidays?  Don’t they mean sweater folding and stocking stuffer towers?  Ah yes, it’s good to have some key things you can do to survive any day.  

While I would love for all my gratitude journal days to look like this:

11-13-11

1.  Watching Eat, Pray, Love with my bestie (a fave book of ours!)
2.  A blogger commenting on how good a recipe I posted was
3.  Having Rose Wine with dinner
4.  Wearing a top I bought when I was in Toronto
5.  Reading in bed

There are days where I have to be thankful for the little things:

Too Many Days to Record them All, These Items Appear:

1.  Ice Water
2.  Tea
3.  Chocolate
4.  My Journal
5.  Clean Socks

And number 6 if I must reveal would probably be:  calling my mother.  Ok, mom, I admitted it!

If nothing else, those five things can usually give me just enough of a relaxing moment to be thankful once more.  I encourage everyone, especially during the holidays, to find the things you are most thankful for, even the little ones, and write them down.  It’s a great feeling to end the day with.  And let’s not forget what the Thanksgiving holiday was really about, coming together and celebrating a union.  So find ways to let your friends and family know you’re thankful for them. 

Maybe for your gratitude journal you record the five secret acts of kindness you did during the day (like fixing supper ahead of time, or giving a coworker a ride home, or making a mix cd for a friend who’s dealing with a difficult situation). Whatever you decide to do, remember to be thankful, even for just a little bit each day, you’ll thank yourself you did so!

Happy Thanksgiving from your fellow Life Lister,
Jess

_______

Bio:  Jess Witkins claims the title Perseverance Expert.  She grew up in a small Wisconsin town as the much younger youngest sibling of four, she’s witnessed the paranormal, jumped out of a plane, worked in retail, traveled to exotic locations like Italy, Ireland, and Shipshewana, Indiana, and she’s eaten bologna and lived to tell about it!  She deals with it all and writes about it!  Come along on her midwest adventures; Witkins promises to keep it honest and entertaining.  Go ahead, SUBSCRIBE, you know you want to.

Follow on Twitter:  @jesswitkins

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Finding Thankfulness, Goal-Setting, The Life List Club and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I’m Thankful for …Ice Water

  1. Pingback: Rules for Life: A Guest Blog by Lyn Midnight « Jess Witkins' Happiness Project

  2. Stacy Green says:

    This is a timely post for me. It’s so easy to get bogged down with life’s frustrations and forget that most of our problems are mundane. Things could almost always be much worse.

    I’m thankful for:
    1) my daughter 2) my family 3) my Mac, a.k.a. as Gloria 4) my weight loss 5) sunshine today.

    • Jess Witkins says:

      Sunshine is frequently on my list too, especially as it gets colder here in the midwest, I have to enjoy the few days we get where it’s still nice out. Such a mood booster!

      • hawleywood40 says:

        I so agree that sunshine is always something that makes me thankful! I had to fight soooo hard not to be a “Debbie Downer” this Wednesday, and then on Thursday my mood just seemed to swing in a better direction. The only thing that changed other than inching closer to the weekend is that Wednesday was so cloudy and rainy that it almost felt like nightime all day, and the sun came back on Thursday : ).

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I love your list, Stacy!

  3. Marcia says:

    I think I should start a grattitude journal. Even though i try not to dwell on the little annoyances we deal with daily, it would still be great to see the good stuff on paper. Like right now, as i write, my hubby is downstairs vacuuming! And I know he’s already got breakfast started. There’s two awesome things to be grateful for! Thanks, Jess!

    • Jess Witkins says:

      Oh yah, anytime Joe makes the meal, it gets on the list. I love having that time to finish writing, and then when the food is done, my laptop goes away and we hang out. I am very grateful when he does that. Vacuuming is another story…

  4. I’ve been doing this too and have found a huge difference in perspective! great post!

    • Jess Witkins says:

      What’s been making your lists, Jennie?

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I haven’t done the gratitude journal thing, although Jess has me very tempted! This month, I did pledge to posting one “gratitude” status update a day on Facebook. I joked with my friends that I’m always the first to use FB as a venting outlet and so for November I was going to turn it around and point out the good instead of the bad. It really has helped me hit the refresh button on my perspective on some tougher days, and what has been equally fun has been that many of my friends started doing the same – reading THEIR ‘thankful for’ posts often reminded me of something else I could have added to my own list. Definitely think I’ll start a gratitude journal after this more public November thankfulness project is over!

  5. kimkiminy says:

    LOL! Love the picture!

  6. I love this! I’m going to start a gratitude journal too. It’ll help me to remember to be thankful on a daily basis.

    • Jess Witkins says:

      It’s a fun pick me up too on bad days or even nostalgic days. I like flipping through my journal and just reading my lists. They range from very emotional things to silly things, like clean socks. I really like keeping track and being thankful this way.

  7. The simple things in life are what I, too, am most grateful for. Nice post!

  8. Jenny Hansen says:

    I love the ice water bit, Jess! I am thankful for 1) my family (2) my health (3) my hubby’s F/T and my P/T job (4) my friends and (5) my writing community. Even with pleurisy (which I have a whopping case of right now) I am thankful to be alive every day.

    • Jess Witkins says:

      I’m thankful you’re part of my writing community and I’m hoping you have a speedy recovery! Rest up, just use the cowbell if you need anything!

  9. tsonoda148 says:

    Ah Pamela, I just loved this! I’ve been grumping and groaning and complaining about life’s big hairy foot stomping on my parade….but what I need to do is take stock of the good stuff. You made me think. Thank you.
    I’m thankful for you and other amazing blog friends, your insight, wisdom and wit.
    There, that’s one thing!

  10. Pingback: It’s the Little Things… | Sonia G Medeiros

Leave a Reply

