Announcements and Cool Things To Come

I’ve got a little catch-up to play in terms of keeping this blog in the loop, so here goes:

A while back, I mentioned the upcoming anthology “The Spirit of Poe.” The anthology is a collection of short fiction and poetry that, as the publisher Literary Landmark Press says, “capture some of Poe’s magic and thematic design.”

With that as the anthology’s calling, you can only imagine how excited I am that my short story, “Peanut Butter and Jelly,” has been selected for publication in “The Spirit of Poe.”

Don’t let the title fool you – my late night reads of the master over the years definitely helped me set the tone for this one.

If you like a read that promises to be chock-full of the eerie, the melancholy, the poetic and the deliciously horrific, I’d encourage you to check out the anthology.  The publishers are donating monies from the anthology to the Baltimore Edgar Allan Poe House and Museum.

For more info, please visit Literary Landmark Press.

_______________

Back in September,  we had our first Life List Club Milestone Party, complete with giveaways from all the Life List bloggers.

The winner here at Hawleyville was Katie of Coffee House Discussions. Please check in on October 26th for an interview with Katie where we’ll learn about her current work in progress, her online store Pandora’s Box, and how she manages to be a successful writer, student and small business owner. On October 28th, we’ll be sharing an excerpt of Katie’s novel-in-progress, which she describes as a “coming of age story, written for teenage girls and women of all ages.”

After getting to know Katie, I’m very psyched about these upcoming features, and can’t wait to share her story with you!

____________

And last but definitely not least, I owe thanks to three talented bloggers who recently honored Hawleyville with some awesome awards.

First, the lovely and very talented Aurora,  and the witty, tell-it-like-it-is Break It Down Pete, who gave me the Versatile Blogger Award. If you haven’t treated yourself to a trip to their blogs yet, I hope you will soon. Aurora has made me both laugh and cry with her beautiful and funny words. Pete has had me choking back giggles at my desk so my co-workers don’t think I’m insane, he never fails to make me think, and his straightforward style is awesome.

Finally, I want to thank Emily Moir for the Leibster Award. Emily is a fantasy writer and blogger you definitely shouldn’t miss. She’s a wonderful writer who blogs about writing and life and who shares my interest in the weird and the humorous alike.

I mean to pay these gifts forward as soon as I can. That’s proving to be an adventure as many of my current favorite reads have already been honored. Sounds like an opportunity to get out there and discover some new great blogs to me! In the meantime, though, I didn’t want to wait to say thanks and encourage you to check out these three blogging superfolk.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends. Be sure to check back Monday for the next Haunted HawleyVille!

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Announcements and Cool Things To Come

  1. Jess Witkins says:

    Congrats on the blog awards, well deserved. I look forward to getting to know some new bloggers too. And it sounds like you and Katie have some fun stuff in store for us too. Woohoo. I loved Haunted Hawleyville.

  2. Marcia says:

    Well-deserved rewards for sure, Pam. Looking forward to your posts with Katie and congrats on your Spirit of Poe story! Lots of good news here!

Leave a Reply

