Fall, Festivities and Freakitude

Autumn in Baltimore

Autumn in Baltimroe

In my neck of the woods, there are cool crisp breezes in the air. Going out at night means wearing a sweatshirt or a jacket. The weather is perfect for sitting by campfires with glasses of wine and long weekend hikes. The leaves haven’t started to turn yet, but that’s coming too. And I don’t even have to mention that football is back!

Did I mention that I LOVE this time of year?

The crisp fall mornings are bringing some fun things here to Hawleyville, too. There will be some cool stuff going on here at Ye Olde Blog this season.

1. The Life List Club Milestone Party – Complete With Prizes!

This coming Friday, September 23rd, my fellow Life Listers and I will be kicking up our heels in celebration of how far we’ve come towards our writing (and other goals) since we got started this summer. Every other Friday, the Life Listers do a blog hop and guest post for each other, offering up advice and sharing our struggles. September 23rd would be the next scheduled round robin, but we’re doing something different this time around. We’ll each be giving updates on our own blogs, celebrating our successes and preparing for our next round of adventures.

But the party isn’t just for us. We want to share the thrill of working together to turn our writing dreams into realities. Each of us will be giving away a gift – to be announced as part of our Sept 23rd Milestone Party posts – to one of our subscribers who comments on that round of updates.

Be sure to come by on the 23rd to check in with me and the other Life Listers, see how our progress relates to your own writing goals and initiatives, and throw your hat in the ring to win some cool giveaways!

2. Haunted Hawleyville

One of the things I love the most about fall is Halloween. My ex mother-in-law used to call it “the most wonderful time of the year,” and in my mind she was right. There’s just something so much fun about pumpkins and costumes and spooky stories.

During the month of October, I’ll be celebrating Halloween each Monday with Haunted Hawleyville. I’ll share 5 spooky stories from my own personal experience. Ya’ll may think I’m nuts by the time I’m done, but since most of the people in my everyday life have known that for years, I’m used to it : ).

Here’s the Haunted Hawleyville lineup:

1. Monday, October 2nd – I’ll start off the haunting with a fun story of a time my grandmother was sure she saw a ghost in my great-grandmother’s living room in Tunnelton, West Virginia. But did she really?

2. Monday, October 10th – The next story also takes place at my great grandmother’s old house. My first boyfriend had a disturbing encounter there. It got even more disturbing when we returned to Baltimore and learned that years and years before, my mother had a very similar experience.

3. Monday, October 17th – Fast forward to my early 20s. My fiance and I are living with a roommate in an old townhouse in Baltimore’s historic Fell’s Point. My best friend comes to stay for the weekend. Although we’re sleeping in rooms that are across the house from each other, we’re both woken at the same moment by something VERY out of the ordinary. And then …

4. Monday, October 24th – Another flashback to my childhood. Jason Voorhees and Freddy Krueger will pay a visit to Hawleyville. Hey, they DID hang out with my family back in those days. If you don’t believe me, you’ll have to wait and see …

5. Monday, October 31st – I’ll round out the Halloween fun with an odd little true story that takes place at my parent’s cabin in Pennsylvania. I shared this experience with my mom, my friend Deb, and my niece Jordyn. All the men who were there that weekend missed it – they were all inside hanging near the TV and the remote control. Does that surprise anyone?

I hope you’ll all join in the festivities. Fall is here – let’s have some fun!

And in the meantime, what are some of YOUR favorite things about fall?

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Childhood Memories, Goal-Setting, Haunted Hawleyville, The Life List Club, Weird and Spooky Stuff, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fall, Festivities and Freakitude

  1. Amy Isaman says:

    I’m so looking forward to your Monday posts next month. That’s a great idea!

  2. You’ve got me hooked. I can’t say no to a ghost!

  3. Aurora says:

    One of my favorite things about fall is that “library” feeling I always get, a sense of getting back to studying, school, learning, even if I’m not taking a course, I feel I should be, LOL Live long learning. Love it.

    Also LOVE the way you write about fall and everything else. Which is why I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award (details on my page and I have included a link to yours). From what I can gather, it’s just a fun way to participate in sharing your favorite bloggers and helping others discover their pages. Hope you have some fun with it and that it brings you a few more readers.

    Thanks again for sharing pieces of your world in only ways that YOU can 🙂

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Thanks so much Aurora – I will be heading over to check it out momentarily – I really appreciate it : )!. And I know exactly what you mean about that “library” feeling. Fall is always the time I feel ready to invest myself in taking on new things that require learning. Last year, it was when I committed to taking a few online writing and publishing courses, and I’m so glad I did!

  4. It all sounds great! I’d like to learn about the Life Listers. How do I do that?

    The ghost story thing is a great idea–my grandmother actually came back as a ghost. I’ll have to tell that story…;)

    • Marcia says:

      Hi Lorna, contact me at marichards320 AT yahoo DOT com for info on the Life List Club.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Hi Lorna,
      Definitely contact Marcia for more info – she’s one of the founders of this great group (along with Jess Witkins). They’ve done a wonderful job of pulling together a group of bloggers who are setting ambitious writing and other goals, working towards them together, and sharing our experiences and lessons learned through guest posts. You can also get a glimpse of what its all about on my Life List Page – https://hawleyville.wordpress.com/the-life-list-club/. Oh, and I can’t wait to read the story of your grandmother!

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    I am so looking forward to reading your stories. I’m like your mom, fall is the most wonderful time of the year. I don’t know if you’ve ever been to Texas in the hot months, but the heat is intense. It burns your skin.

    You’re sweating as you walk out to your car. Fall is like a pardon form above after all that heat. The sky turns this gorgeous deep, deep blue (instead of summer’s intense white). And it feels like there’s a little mystery in the air…like Halloween is coming.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I think living in Texas would make me wilt up and blow away, Catie! I am SUCH a cool-weather person. I don’t like the biting cold of winter, but I love “sweater weather” and just seem to wake up with double doses of energy in the fall. It does seem like such a mystical time – all the Halloween fun and superstition, the changes in nature that make every day look a little different, the smells of campfires and autumn leaves. And I LOVE fall food too : ).

  6. Marcia says:

    I love this idea and I’m definitely going to be around for those posts! Fall means apple festival and craft shows, pumpkin picking and baking pies, windy days and gorgeous colorful trees, and Halloween, of course!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Oh, yes! There’s an apple butter festival in Berkely Springs WV in early October each year that isn’t too far from my parent’s cabin. We all try to go and spend the weekend there and go to the festival together. Pumpkins and gourds and apple cider and apple butter and all sorts of yummy wines from local vinyards – its one of my favorite annual outings : )!

  7. Jess Witkins says:

    Pam, it’s uncanny! We both love Halloween so much and I was planning on turning my blog into Jess Witkins’ Hallween Project. LOL. Well, count on this avid reader to be swinging by for your ghoulie stories and I hope you pop over for mine! Happy early Halloween!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      GMTA Jess! And ditto – I am so psyched to read your Halloween blog hauntings! I think part of the reason I love the Halloween season so much is that it puts us in such a spooky/weird/make-believe state of mind for story telling!

  8. Patti Kuche says:

    This sounds like such fun and you are so right about this being a wonderful time of the year, that cosy, crunchy time! Don’t you think it would be lovely to use these evenings sitting by a fire and writing by candlelight!

  9. akamonsoon says:

    Ooh! Can’t wait to hear your stories! I loves me some good ghost stories. What a great series.

  10. akamonsoon says:

    And, oh, I love Fall because temps here are no longer in the 100+ range. I also love going up north to camp. It reminds me of a traditional Fall there once we are out of the desert. Caramel apples rock, too!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      We were just sitting here talking about caramel apples because Lee said he wanted one : ). I’m getting a little bummed because we’re getting another stretch of seemingly endless rain, and it just seems like my favorite season is washing out here in Baltimore. Hoping there’s a weather turnaround in October!

  11. Pingback: Writing and Reading, and Ghosts-Oh my! « Jess Witkins' Happiness Project

Leave a Reply

