Recovering From Knockdowns

Welcome to another edition of the Life List’s Club’s Guest Post Friday!

Today, I’m happy to be hosting fellow writer Diana Ligaya. For weather-related reasons that go by the names of Irene and Lee, I’ve been pretty stressed and deflated the last two weeks, so Emily’s reminder to get back up again when circumstances knock you down couldn’t be more timely for me. 

Coincidentally, my Life List post this week goes hand-in-hand with Diana’s. I discuss how “letters to myself” have been helping me hold on to my muse while I’ve felt too overwhelmed with life’s demands to tackle my serious writing projects. I hope you’ll check it out at Emily Moir’s sometime today.

Now, on to Diana!

***

I get knocked down
But I get up again
You’re never going to keep me down
Tubthumping – Chumbawumba

It’s a fact of life: every once in awhile, something happens to knock you down. Sometimes, these knockdowns may be small, like waking up late on a Monday morning – a mistake that starts a chain reaction that just snowballs into a horrible day. Your entire morning is thrown off. You’re late for work, your boss is upset, you miss your lunch, you miss the bus and on and on. By the end of the day, you’re grumpy and upset because nothing has gone your way.

Other times, these knockdowns may be huge, life-changing events that all too often you never even saw coming. You may be suddenly laid off from work or your relationship ends on a sour note. These life-changing knockdowns may force you to re-evaluate your life, whether or not you were ready to do so.

A knockdown may take the wind out of you. Just one bad day may seem enough to throw you off balance in your progress towards a life change that you have been trying to make, like changing your diet or exercise routine. Maybe the stress of a bad day has driven you to the comfort of a pint of ice cream or a “day off” from that exercise routine that you had been getting so good at doing regularly these past two weeks.

A larger knockdown, like a job loss or relationship change, can be much harder to recover from. Losing your job may be devastating to your finances and stress you out in countless ways. A major change in a personal relationship, like a breakup or a bad fight with your partner, can demoralize you in so many ways that trickle down and threaten other parts of your life.

The most important thing to remember when dealing with life’s knockdown moments is to get up. You may not be able to anticipate or prevent all the thing that might come along to knock you down. But you do have it in you to get back up again.

Of course, getting up is almost always harder than it sounds.

If you are finding that it is hard to get over a knockdown, think about what is keeping you from recovering. Is fear keeping you down? Fear of getting hurt or of getting down again? Get up even if it means facing your fears. Get up even if it means getting hurt. Recovering and learning from a knockdown will only make you and your resolve to overcome future knockdowns stronger.

What is knocking you down right now? How do you plan on getting up?

* *

Photo Credit: Mike Hoff (crashmaster007 on Flickr)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/crashmaster/2068211538/

* *
BIO

Diana Ligaya has been fascinated with science and technology ever since she could remember. Her voracious appetite for stories and thirst for adventure led her to explore the infinite worlds of speculative fiction.
She loves everything from hard science fiction to post-apocalyptic dystopias and everything in between.

When she’s not working on her fiction credits, Diana works from home as a freelance writer, specializing in technology. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, their daughter and their mutt.

Diana maintains a writing and review blog at Regimented Creativity
You can find her on Twitter @DianaLigaya

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Goal-Setting, The Life List Club, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Recovering From Knockdowns

  1. Stacy Green says:

    Inspiring post. I’ve been going through a melancholy period, and I don’t really have a reason for it. Just something I deal with. Thanks for the encouragement.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I have those times too. This week, I can blame’em on nonstop rain and no sunshine, but sometimes they just happen for no reason I can pinpoint, and I have to just kick my way through them.

  2. Marcia says:

    Good advice, Diana!

  3. jenniefire says:

    Diana, this is so great! I think it’s easy to think that a few things going wrong = the end of the world. It’s not. Every day is new and we have the chance to start again. For me, when I feel defeated I have to take a moment and remember to be grateful for what I have. It makes me realize not all is lost. Then I can stand up and be a better person. Great post!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      So true Jennie – a bad day CAN feel like the end of the world sometimes. We all have to find ways to get back to our “happy place,” or at least our “I can get up and kick some butt” place, when that happens.

  4. How well do I know about knockdowns. 😀 Whew. I have them frequently. I’m working at getting better at getting up and getting back on the horse. Great post.:D

  5. Jess Witkins says:

    I had my knockdown a couple weeks ago, and it took awhile to get up, but that’s why I made myself a writer’s boot camp. Sometimes a little extra momentum is what we need to be successful.

  6. tsonoda148 says:

    Gosh, you are so right in that getting back up is almost always harder than it sounds. I’ve had knockdowns aplenty for the last couple years, with unemployment and some health woes. I keep getting back up, however, but I swear it gets harder every time. At present, i am well and “upright”, and hopefully will stay the course for a little while……or at least until I’ve gathered some strength reserves for that next knockdown.
    Good post. Thanks.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Hopefully the next knockdown is far, far away, or doesn’t exist at all : ). The thing I admire about all of us is that we DO get up, even when it gets tougher and tougher to do so. And I’m hoping the Steelers do the same thing after yesterday lol.

  7. What’s another word for “inspiring?” It’s already been used so much, but it seems to be the right word for this post.

    What’s knocking me down right now? Nothing, for once. Well, maybe my health which is a constant challenge getting in the way of doing EVERYTHING I want to do, but other than that, I am grateful for this life I’m living and even for the health that I’ve got (I could be so much worse off, like my typing fingers could be numb).

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Appreciating what we do have going for us, as you do, is one of the biggest keys to our success, I think. I try to hold on to the same attitude and drown out the “woe is me” voice that gets stuck in my head sometimes with rmeinders of all the good things I do have going for me!

Leave a Reply

