A Plea: No Cold Hard Cash for Casey Anthony

I wasn’t going to give Casey Anthony one second of airtime here in my little corner of cyberspace. She’s gotten way too much publicity already, she seems to enjoy the limelight, and not a damn thing anyone says now can change what happened to her daughter Caylee.

But in the aftermath of her trial, I do have one thing to say:  Please don’t let this flaming doucherocket make a dime off her daughter’s death.

Because she wasn’t convicted, there’s nothing to legally stop Casey Anthony from getting rich off her story through book deals, interviews and movies. Here’s just one of the many articles about what could come next for her: Casey Anthony’s Bid For Fame Has Been Realized.

As a writer who is struggling to turn my passion into a living, of course that royally pisses me off. But as a human being, “royally pisses me off” doesn’t even begin to cover the range of emotions I feel.

The trial is over, and there’s no law to stop her from turning the horrible fiasco into cash. There will be publishers who want to take on her tell-all story, and who will pay big bucks to do so. There will be producers clamoring for the right to make the documentary, and TV stations competing for the “exclusive interview.” All that is left to keep her from turning that type of bottom-feeding into a ticket to a work-free life is the common sense of the public. Even if she is sentenced to a pathetically small amount of additional prison time today, she can begin cashing in on these types of offers from jail.

Yes, I am one of the many who believes that Casey murdered Caylee and then tried to cover it up. But my opinion on that doesn’t even matter here.

Worst case scenario, me and the gazillions who believe that are right, and she will go unpunished for ending her daughter’s life. Should she also be allowed to live on easy street because she killed her child?

In my mind, the chances that it happened any other away are about as great as me hitting the big bucks on the lottery. I’m the type who MIGHT buy a ticket once a year. But hell, that’s happened to people before, so let’s cover that ground too.

Suppose Caylee did die in some tragic accident, and Casey covered it up, with or without help from her family. Should she be rewarded for that? For wasting the time of investigators, for throwing out accusations at others to keep from being viewed as a negligent parent? Suppose you even believe that she didn’t know what happened to her daughter – that she thought someone else had taken her. In that case, her lies and imaginary events sent investigators running down dead-end streets. Does she deserve to profit from letting her own psychosis and fear make the trail leading to what truly happened to Caylee grow cold?

Worst case, she’s a cold-blooded childkiller. Best case, she’s a mother who hindered rather than helped those who were trying to find her daughter. In my mind, neither scenario or anything in between should be something she could take to the bank.

And finally, let’s just say you don’t give a rat’s ass either way, that your curiousity about what really happened overrides any moral concern about her making money off of Caylee’s death. Here’s what you can do. Go to the store and and buy yourself a Magic 8-ball. Take it out of the box, hold it up, and say “Did Casey Anthony murder Caylee?” Give it a good shake.

The answer you get is just as likely to be the truth as anything this psychotic liar “shares” with her “exclusive interviewers” or puts down in writing. If you’re a fan of false leads and imaginary friends, I can recommend some good fiction instead.

The criminal trial is over, and until the civil suits start rolling in, the trial of public opinion is all that’s left. If they haven’t already (and they most likely have), some publisher, producer, magazine or TV station will soon be giving Casey Anthony advances to tell her story. I hope we’ll show those who would follow in their footsteps that there is no gain for them in supporting a psycho-hosebeast by making them take a loss on that advance. I’m sure Casey will blow through the money fast enough. Being a party-girl can be expensive.

 Only we can make sure there’s not more where that came from by making it clear that we won’t spend our own honestly-earned cash on listening to any more of the steady stream of crap that comes out of her mouth.

In the last 16 hours, this Facebook Fan site grew from about 1,000 members to over 16,000 strong: Boycott Casey Anthony. It is just one of many such movements. That gives me hope that we really will send the message loud and clear.

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Rants, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Plea: No Cold Hard Cash for Casey Anthony

  1. Shelly says:

    They need to remove her ovaries so it doesn’t happen again. I woudl say she’s bi-polar with other personality disorders along with pathological liar. Her mother, Cindy, should be shot. If any of my daughters killed one of my grandkids, I’d help, bury them.

  2. Catie Rhodes says:

    This is such a weird case. I was shocked when I learned the verdict, though not exactly surprised. You’re very correct that Casey Anthony could easily cash in on this and live the rest of her life work free. People want to know some, any version of events that makes a little sense. You’re right, though, the thing to do is boycott Casey Anthony. Isn’t this a crazy world?

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Very crazy – I’m glad there’s good crazy out there along with the bad. But I really do hope people realize that even though wanting the truth is understandable, they’re never going to get it from anything that she’s involved in putting out there.

  3. l'empress says:

    I happen to have a personal dislike (to put it politely) of sociopathic liars. Otherwise, I would probably just keep quiet. I think she killed her kid, one way or another, when it stopped being fun to be a mommy — or maybe to piss her parents off. But I never heard any evidence that she did.

    What I heard was, child neglect, endangerment of a minor, interfering with a police investigation — evidenced but obviously not believed. I think the state considers it cheaper to let her go than to house and feed her. (Not to mention what they have to protect her from in the general prison population.)

    I would not buy anything written about the sociopath, nor would I watch any film, fictional or “documentary.” I would boycott any product that advertises it. (And, just for kicks, as a merchant I wouldn’t sell her anything, because I wouldn’t expect to get paid.)

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I’d be tempted NOT to protect her from the general prison population … guess that’s why I’d never make it as a corrections officer. I think you’re right, there’s a strong hard gut feeling about what happened and plenty of circumstancial evidence (what mother makes up all that crap to derail an investigation into the whereabouts of her daughter unless she’s the reason her daughter is missing?), but no irrefutable proof. And her sociopathic lying is a huge reason for that.

  4. Lafemmeroar says:

    I feel so bad for that poor little girl who was taken from this world. I hate to say it, but “that mother” will make money from this tragedy as there are people out there who will “buy her story.” So sad …

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Hopefully her own selfishness and psycho-behavior will ruin her in a way the courts and the publics “need to know” (even though all they’ll ever know from her is more lies) will not …

  5. jsh0608 says:

    This whole thing has just been really sad and so wrong. How is that the world believe she is guilty, but 12 people believe that she is innocent. I can’t believe this and I was crying so much. There are a lot of us who are having trouble having babies and here she is and many other that have these miracle beings just to abuse and kill them. They do need to take away her privilages of having more kids. I hope there are not people out there who would read her books or whatever she is going to do. There will be so much backlash from those who help her. Ugh this POS just irks me and everyone is so angry. And now some jurors want money and fame to be put on camera. How can blood money be happy for them to move on. Karma is a major bitch and she will get hers. She thought she didn’t have a life because she had a kid weighing her down. This is definitely going to weigh her down because she won’t have that life she wanted now cause of this negative attention. But like they say…negative or postivie attention is still attention. Ugh I can’t believe they let her off free. Poor little girl Caylee. :0(

    • hawleywood40 says:

      So know what you mean about “negative or positive attention is attention all the same.” I really struggled with whether or not I even wanted to post this for that reason, even though my blog is a teeny-tiny little nothing in cyberspace compared to all the media outlets. Its still one more little round of attention for her. But this was just something I felt like I really needed to say.

  6. akamonsoon says:

    Yep, I think we all have a moral responsibility to boycott anything she could profit from. Poor little Caylee. It seems in a way that she has been lost in this whole mess.

Leave a Reply

