No Pain, No Gain

You Might Be A Writer If:

– You frequently have a numb arse from extended periods of sitting.
– You are frequently woken up at weird hours by story ideas that simply MUST escape, and then find yourself trying not to fall asleep and drool on your desk at your day job.
– Your eyes and your fingers are the most worked-out parts of your body, and your eyes often bitch about it.

You Might Be A Lapsed Gym Rat Trying to Get Back In The Game If:

– It hurts to laugh, cough or sneeze because of the last two days of ab workouts.
– You haven’t lifted anything heavier than a beer in a year, and are still dumb enough to wonder why your arms are bitching and moaning after you made them lift weights.
– You want to slap yourself upside the head when you put on your workout clothes and realize that you looked much hotter in them this time last summer.

As for me, I have the honor of being both. What this means is that I am a bleary-eyed, numb-assed, aching-armed, limping woman who can’t laugh, cough or sneeze without wincing and who is in desperate peril of snoozing and desk-drooling when she goes back to work next week.

But you know what? I wouldn’t trade one ache. They say no pain, no gain. The alternative to suffering the woes of a writer and a reformed fitness wannabe would be to hit 45 in 4 years with nothing written, no publishing credits to my name, and a great big whale of a butt bumbling along behind me wherever I walked.

Two years ago, I committed myself to being fit and was met with great success. Then I stopped, and committed myself to being a writer instead. That, too, has been a successful venture so far. Now, it is time to achieve both goals simultaneously, without letting one crowd out the other. Five years ago, I may not have believed that I could be a writer with publication credit and several completed stories under her belt. I’d never have believed I could be truly fit. I’ve shown myself I CAN in fact do both.

Doing them both at once is just stepping up the game a bit, right?

Sometimes when you’re trying your darndest, life actually decides to be kind and throw you a bone or two. Like having a gym open around the corner from your house. Or having something like The Life List Club come into being just as you’re about to kick your own goal-setting up a notch.

I hope you’ll check it out, and perhaps consider participating.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna stretch my numb rear end. Hope you’re enjoying your holiday weekend as much as I’ve been loving mine.

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Exercise, Goal-Setting, humor, The Life List Club, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No Pain, No Gain

  1. Aurora says:

    Nice one, Hawley, just the shot in the arm I needed to get my own “arse” in gear today… have to get some writing done and get some decent exercise… but oh I do know numb alright 🙂

  2. No holiday the side of the pond, sadly.

    Like lists sound good part from the making them public. Scary!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Putting my writing goals “out there” a while back was the scariest thing for me, since they are the ones that mean the most and where I’ve always been most afraid of failing. But so far, I think it has actually helped : )!

  3. starzyia says:

    yeah, yeah, yeah…. I get the numb bum, in fact I walk around the house singing ‘numb bum! numb bum! numb bum!’ to the tune of Jolene. Haven’t finished the rest of the lyrics off yet.

    And since I have two creative jobs, working for myself at home, I do stray a little too often over to the games panel and add mouse click RSI to my list of physical ailments.

    I am walking really fast like a maniac around the neighbourhood most days of the week…. on these walks I encounter a list of ineligible men ranging from ‘too old’, ‘pushing a pram’, and ‘pulling up fly after piss in the park’…. I don’t know why I started out thinking I’d meet a great guy this way. Maybe when I get a dog?

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I love the “numb bumb” song – that’s awesome! I used to have the same kind of encounters when I was walked around our neighborhood – minus the piss in the park dude! Dogs at least tend to keep the freakiest of the freaks away …

  4. tsonoda148 says:

    So awesome! You are an inspiration to me. Just wanted to say that. I truly love to write and have all the above symptoms daily. However, I’ve neglected my health and at 57, that’s a big NoNO. You wrote something a few days ago that got me thinking about taking a healthier step in life, and I am actually watching my diet and moving more. I still drink my wine though. There’s not enough inspiration in the world to stop me from that. hehe
    Thanks for sharing!
    Terri

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I will never, ever, ever give up my wine or beer when I want it, and will have pizza when the mood hits me, darn it : ). I think life is too short to not treat ourselves to our favorite things, and am just trying to do more good than bad lol.

  5. akamonsoon says:

    Good for you for getting back into the gym. I think I saw your post on FB yesterday and was quite impressed. Of course I read this from the fainting sofa of the Girl Cave where I parked my butt while watching reruns of The Golden Girls until bedtime. I really should’ve been at the gym too.

Leave a Reply

