Discovering eFiction

I have been devouring the first book George R. R. Martin’s Game of Throne series like a girl with PMS attacks a box of chocolates. Since there are three more books to go, this venture has turned my summer reading list upside down.

I blame it on HBO and their addictive television series, but I’m sure not complaining.

When last weekend rolled around, I had read up to about where the TV series had taken me the week before, and found myself in a quandary. Should I read on, and then know what would most likely happen when Lee and I plopped on the couch for our Sunday night GOT time? Or should I step away from the Kindle?

I decided I didn’t want to spoil my Sunday night TV, but I couldn’t put down the Kindle. A weekend without something to read is like a PB&J sandwich without the PB or the J. So I went in search of something new and different. 

I had stumbled on eFiction Magazine’s web site a few days earlier. Since I was in search of shorter fiction rather than a new book-length read, I decided to give them a whirl. Although you can get eFiction on line, I am an admitted Kindle addict. My Kindle a perfect companion in my favorite reading spot – my hammock. So I opted to subscribe to the Kindle edition, and trotted happily out to my little backyard paradise.

What waited for me was a delightful discovery. I spent the next hour or so immersed in several unique stories told by fresh new voices. At some point I may write more on the individual pieces within, but for now I’ll just say the June issue was a like a bag of gifts. Stasey Norstrom’s “The Forgotten Hall” had me in another world and wrapped up in thoughts about my own state of mind all at once. Kathleen Troutman’s “Poor Amy” was a disturbing (in a good way) psychological ride. And although I’m usually “just not that into” detective stories, Harris Tobias did such a great job with his sleuth Dick Danks in “The Case of the Cleaning Lady’s Son” that I read on because I was into the guy. I ended up learning that if you give me a mainstay with enough quirk and character, I actually AM into them.

I could go on. These are just three of the tales that stood out for me. In addition to short stories, eFiction publishes poems and reviews.

Overall, what I liked most about eFiction was the variety within and the promise in this issue that there’s something for almost everyone in each issue. The stories were fresh and different, and the voices were new to me. There’s talent there, but with none of the pretentiousness I’ve seen in other places. If you’re looking for a place to discover new writers or a collection of quick and easy but more than worthwhile reads to look forward to each month, give them a whirl.

I’ll be keeping my subscription, and going back to the web site to peruse the issues I missed.

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Discovering eFiction

  1. taureanw says:

    Awesome I’m going to have to check it out. I’m also a Kindle Addict and I have no intention of ever quitting 🙂

  2. L.S. Engler says:

    My father’s been pestering me about getting a Kindle, and journals like eFiction are the main reason I think I definitely want to get one. I think you’ve just lead me toward one more notch on the side of saying, “Okay, Dad. I’ll go for it!”

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I highly recommend it! My favorite part is not having to decide what I want to pack for reading on trips and such. I’ve reading material for any mood at my fingertips without carrying 20 books on vacation : ).

  3. Lafemmeroar says:

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll have to check the site as I’m always looking for good reads.

  4. littleoddme says:

    I just read some of Kathleen Troutman’s blog via your link – thank you! Just based on that I think I’m going to have to subscribe to at least the June edition of the magazine – I really want to read that story!

  5. Marcia says:

    I’ll have to check it out! Sometimes I just want a quick read, too. And you can’t beat the Kindle for cost of reading material and convenience, though, like most, i still love print books. I have the best of both worlds. Thanks for the great post!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      So true! I still love the feel of reading a print book too, although I have to admit I’m getting lazier and lazier about bookstore visits. My Kindle supports my aversion to shopping, too : ).

  6. The Hook says:

    I keep hearing great things about these books. Enjoy!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      They’re an awesome ride so far. I ended up breaking my promise to myself not to read ahead and am dying for tonight’s TV episode so I can finally talk about it : )!

  7. Hi! First time visitor, via Carrie Mumford (nee Occupation: Writer).

    I’ve not read Game of Thrones, but would be really interested to know if your experience with the Kindle version is similar to the one quoted below, which comes from the KIndle forums.

    We strongly suspect this is a one off glitch in a download, not the whole batch. Have you seen any evidence of errors in your version?

    i find it hard to believe a professional publisher let a book on Kindle in the mess described here:

    “I am completely disgusted with the quality of the kindle version of A Game of Thrones. It is full of random errors appearing in the text, such as changed letters (m instead of rn, of h instead of b for example) that change a word/or name or sentence into something else. It has completely ruined my experience of reading the book and I suggest that you do not waste your money on it. Clearly nobody checked for errors before publishing it.”

  8. hawleywood40 says:

    Hi Mark – thanks for reading! To answer you question, I didn’t have that experience at all – my download was error-free. I did start with just getting the first book, not the entire 4-book collection you can download – not sure which one your friend was reading?

    • This was the first one. Which I think proves the point, that just occasionally books are being downloaded that hve issues. It may be one in a thousand, but if you;re selling thousands that can son mount up,

      As an “indie” publisher we always get blamed when a buyer gets a messed up download. Your experience would seem to bear out there are glitches with the pro formatted books too.

      Very helpful. Thanks!

      • hawleywood40 says:

        Mark – I just remembered that when I first got my Kindle I downloaded a bunch of Stephen King books I wanted to re-read. I did notice a few flaws with “m’s” and “w’s” in one of them. They were isolated, not enough that it ruined my reading experience like your friend with GOT, and I haven’t seen it again, but the fact that this happened to me with a Stephen King novel would definitely support your theory on these glitches too!

  9. The T says:

    meh…books.. I feel like I’m the only one in the world who would rather watch a movie… reading? yes I do a ton of it, yahoo news, WSJ online, the NY Times online…..but to listen to what you ladies read? Argh…I couldn’t do it… I’m a man, we like pictures… and fter all, aren’t pictures worth a thousand words? It’s just like speed reading for men…lol…When I want people to know I’m cultured? I lt them know I’m an avid supporter and listener of NPR National Public Radio….nuff said… LMAO…

    T.

  10. hawleywood40 says:

    LOL T – I’m pretty sure no one would ever call a lot of what I read (mostly in the Stephen King vein) or write (stories about landscapers who discover creepy stuff when they sneak off in someone’s yard to take a dump or a dead naked man-whore who comes back to try to figure out who in the long line of people who are pissed off at him whacked him). But to each his own : ). My BF would generally agree with you. He’ll read what I write, but that’s about it, and if I can hold his interest for a little while I know I’ve got something halfway decent going lol.

  11. Pingback: Discovering eFiction (via Hawleyville) « Daedalus Press

  12. I was a holdout on the Kindle for a long time. Now I’m addicted. I’ll have to check this website out.

Leave a Reply

