Weekend Recap and Putting It Out There

I’m sitting down to blog awake, alert and refreshed, instead of with the usual insomnia induced grogginess that greets me on Mondays. I took today off, so I slept my Sunday night through without the usual tossing, turning, mental list-making and back-to-work worrying.

The weekend was a lovely mix of writing progress, pure laziness and entertainment. A few highlights:

– On Saturday morning, Lee went to my parents’ house to work on my mother’s veggie garden and on cutting back a tree in her yard. I turned off the TV, opened the windows, and spent the drooly, drizzly day writing for hours. First, I began a new piece. It is something completely different from the spooky/weird/horror kick I’ve been on lately. It was inspired by my observing how the spewing, angry, entitled behavior I witness in some professional settings is really no different than the way drunks who get pissed off over nothing will act in the pub. Only, in the “professional” settings, the angry spewers don’t have too much booze as an excuse.

I’m just getting started on it, and not quite sure where it will go, but I’m liking it. I’m finding stepping away from the creepy and taking on something else refreshing.

On the creepy side, though, I did go back to my “pooping mailman” inspired story and re-work the ending. After I’d let it sit for a while, I realized I loved the entire thing but felt the end fell a little flat. I think I’ve fixed that, or am at least pretty close to it.

– After giving it some thought, I decided to post one of my short fiction pieces here. Anyone interested can now check out Stalling the Sunset. I’ve been holding off on actually posting any of my stories here, wanting to save them all for potential paying and better-read markets. But the words keep flowing, and my story arsenal is growing, so I’ve decided to put this one out there.  It is a piece about an ailing grandmother who will go to unusual lengths not to be put in a nursing home. Or at least, that’s what seems to be happening.

– After spending Saturday working away, I gave myself a lazy day on Sunday and Lee and I went to a local community arts festival. It was supposed to be a thunderstormy day, but the weather held out and stayed sunny and warm instead. This made me very happy, since an artist friend of mine had a booth to sell her paintings. This is one of her bigger events of the year, and she’s been working on getting prepped for months. By the time the storms rolled through in the evening, the festival was over and she was home after an awesome sales day. Sometimes fate does smile on creative souls.

– For the last two weeks, Lee has been watching Game of Thrones on Sunday nights. I watched it with him last night, and ended up getting so wrapped up in it that we decided to go back and watch the earlier episodes. As we did with The Walking Dead when we discovered it, we pulled a late-nighter watching the first season episodes we’ve missed.

I’m totally hooked. The storyline is captivating, the characters flawed and outrageous, and the action just the right combination of action and conversation, if that makes any sense. Sean Bean has always been one of my favorite actors, and I love seeing him in the Ned Stark role instead of in one of his usual under-developed bad guy parts.

Between Deadwood, True Blood and now Game of Thrones, HBO has definitely put my favorite TV out there. And I love that their series usually air on Sunday nights, when I really need distraction from that “go away, Monday” feeling.

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Creativity, Fiction, Slices O' Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekend Recap and Putting It Out There

  1. Shelly says:

    Good for you. I suffered temporarily with insomnia for a year. It was horrible.

  2. Game of Thrones. I should check that out. It’s good to know that you’re finding your drive and inspiration to write.

  3. The Hook says:

    Game of Thrones has been receiving tons of positive press lately, I’ll have to check it out. Glad you had a terriffic weekend. Great post!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Definitely lovin’ GOT, so much that I just got the first book in the series on my Kindle to see how they compare. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about it at some point. Also really enjoying “The Borgias,” although not as much as GOT.

Leave a Reply

