Growing Our Garden

Every spring, Lee and I grow a garden together.

I have to admit, he does most of the work. Oh, I water and weed, but he’s the guru when it comes to our gardens, whether we’re talking flowers or vegetables.  Over the last week, he’s been hard at work getting this year’s veggie crop in order.

Last year, we had our vegetable garden in a big wooden box on the side of our yard. But the wood was old and weathered, and we realized it was falling apart. So he tore it down, and we were left with this:

Veggie Garden Before

Once he had torn down the old structure, he spent the rest of the week getting our new garden in order. Here’s the finished product:

Veggie Garden After

Veggie Garden After

You can’t really see them yet, with the exception of the small tomato plants, but this new garden is home to one heck of a future salad: tomatoes, romaine lettuce, scallions, cucumbers, green peppers and squash. I can’t wait to watch them come to life.

As we tend our garden this summer, I’ll think back to how Lee made all that manual labor look like fun. As you can see, he’s truly a garden gnome:

My Crazy Garden Gnome

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growing Our Garden

  1. LittleOddMe says:

    Oh, that picture of Lee is awesome at the end there. Great garden too. We’ve been working on ours for a couple of weeks. I wish I’d taken before photos…. I wonder what I have in my archives from previous years?

    In other news, my Love and I wrote 30 word fiction today. I don’t know we’ll do it every day, and I won’t be posting them until tomorrow, but it was fun. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

  2. hawleywood40 says:

    Can’t wait to read them! On my list of things to do is playing with the whole six-word and six-sentence story thing again. We’ll see how that goes : )!

  3. akamonsoon says:

    Great job on the garden you two! I love the big flowers. You will be enjoying salads in no time. BTW, what is that on Lee’s head? 😉

  4. hawleywood40 says:

    That’s a big clump of dirt with some roots growing out of it : ). Yeah, boys put weird stuff on their heads lol!

Leave a Reply

