Writin’ On …

It is great to be back in the blogging world, writing and catching up with all of you. My little hiatus really wasn’t lengthy at all. What’s a week? Five days at the office or of shuffling the kiddos off to school, or maybe both if you’re the kind of busy that would drive me crazy.

For me, it was traveling to West Virginia for my Granddad’s funeral. It was a farewell, but it was also a trip back in time to my own childhood and even to my dad’s. I will write more on that later, because I want to be able to come back some day and recapture those thoughts. It was getting back into the groove of work after bereavement leave that followed right on the heels of a 10-day holiday break. It was getting back into the gym and a lot of writing. It was making some tough but exciting decisions.

The Writerly Highlights:

1. I’ve come to the tough decision to stop being a contributing writer for the Life List Club. Note I did NOT say to stop Life List Clubbing. I’ve gotten so much out of getting to know this group and still plan to keep on keepin’ on with my goals just as if I were still reporting on them. I also plan to keep following the contributing writers and hope you will too – I’m keeping my LLC blogroll right there on the sidebar for your convenience.

The next LLC blog round robin is next Friday, January 27th. While I won’t be guest posting, I hope you’ll stop by for my recap of my LLC experience and my personal thanks to the members of this very special group.

2 . After letting it sit for a few months, I’ve made some revisions to my short story “The Not-So-False Prophet” and shipped it out to a potential market. In a weird way, this tale is sort of a different twist on the plot that has become one of my current longer WIPs, “Like There’s No Tomorrow.” I feel good about the revisions I made, which involved cutting out an ending where I went off on a tangent that took some of the punch away from the finish rather than adding to it.

Lesson Learned: I need more patience. Just because I think a piece is done doesn’t mean it is. Incubation time is good, and I now have enough items in the hopper that sitting on a piece for a while doesn’t mean I’m not moving forward with others.

3. With the exception of a few days of setbacks due to my family issues and work craziness, I’ve stuck with or exceeded the 500-words-a-day goal I set after hosting Gary Gauthier’s post recommending this approach. After trying it for a few weeks, I give it a solid “A” as a good technique for working or otherwise super-busy writers. We shy away from writing on some days because it feels like we don’t have enough time to do our words justice. But really, when you think about it, how long does it take you to pour out 500 words when you’re on a roll? Not long at all. I can do it with my first cup of coffee. Knowing that’s all I have to do gets me in my writing seat. But I almost ALWAYS go over the 500 words, sometimes by miles. And if I don’t, that’s still OK.

4. Finally, if you haven’t had enough of me already, please pop on over to Marcia Richard’s blog. Marcia is celebrating the first anniversary of her blog, “Sexy. Smart. From the Heart.” I’m super-thrilled to be featured as one of the women who have been a big part of Marcia’s blogging community.

5. OK, I know I said “finally” just a second ago. This time I really mean it. I was checking out a few new Twitter followers recently, and one of them was Squawk Back. What I stumbled into was a very intriguing publication with a wide variety of unique, interesting and sometimes downright captivating short fiction. Check them out, either as a potential place to submit your own work or just an escape into some good reads.

Amidst all this living and writing, I managed to finish Stephen King’s latest novel, 11/22/63. Please check back on Tuesday for my thoughts on his latest creation. Until then, happy writing and reading!

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Goal-Setting, The Life List Club, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Writin’ On …

  1. l'empress says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your Granddad; you wrote about him so well, for so long, that I considered him part of the permanent cast of characters. Please extend my sypathies to all the family. How is your grandmother.

    • hawleywood40 says:

      She’s doing OK – it is one day at a time and of course a huge adjustment for her but I think knowing that he has spent over a decade not being able to do so many of things he that made him love life has helped give her a sense of peace that he was as “ready” as anyone could be and is in a better place.

  2. Stacy Green says:

    So sorry to hear about your grandpa. I hope it was a peaceful and fulfilling goodbye. And it’s good to see you back:)

  3. Thanks for keeping us updated. It seems you have a lot going on and juggling is becoming one of your many talents.

  4. Marcia says:

    Again, Pam, so sorry for the loss of your grandfather. I had mine until I was 24, wish he and my grandma were still here.
    Thanks for mentioning LLC and we are all so happy that you’ll still hang out and visit with us. We hated to see you go but totally understood why you needed to.
    We’ve gotten wonderful response to the birthday posts honoring my best supporters over the past year. I thank you again for being there to comment and promote my blog and me. You are a great friend, for sure.
    Congrats on revising that story and getting it out into the world! I hope it gets published and brings you more attention for your other works!

    • hawleywood40 says:

      I look forward to continuing to support all of you, Marcia, and to getting more ideas and inspiration from the LLC Friday posts! Thanks again for the spotlight on your blog – I loved being in such great company!

  5. Terri Sonoda says:

    Hi Pamela. Firstly, I am so sorry to hear about your Grandfather.
    You sound so very busy, and I can totally relate, as my head is spinning just trying to get used to incorporating my new job into my Grad school and writing life. It’s madness. And I know I owe you some questions. I am hoping to get to those today, but don’t hold me to it because I have to finish a school paper first. Glad you’re back to the blogging world. Love popping over to see what you’re up to!
    T

    • hawleywood40 says:

      Terri, the awesome thing about those of us who are trying to juggle more balls than we have hands is that we totally understand when others doing the same thing get a little backed up! No worries on the questions – just keep me posted. Hope by the time you read this that paper is done : )!

Leave a Reply

