On Your Mark, Get Set … Write!

So I mentioned a few posts back that I’ve entered the Writer’s Weekly 24-hour short story contest, which begins tomorrow at noon.

Since this is my first venture into something like this, I’m doing the following to get ready:

1. Dying my roots. Because I’m thinking that my thoughts will escape my brain feisty, fresh and inspired rather than stodgy and weary if they don’t encounter any unwanted gray hairs on their way out.

2. Refusing to write anything of substance today. My in-the-works story is calling me, but I want my brain to be ITCHING to write tomorrow. I want to be so anxious to sit down and tappity-tap that doing so feels like hitting the lottery.

3. Not working. I left my office yesterday with everything soon-due or critical put to rest. If anything new and soon-due or critical pops up today, I don’t want it anywhere in my head over the duration of the contest. Those kinds of worries tend to crowd writerly thoughts. So they can wait a while.

4. Having a happy hour with my co-workers later. Because a happy hour will get me out early and home early, rather than waiting to head out to the pub late in the evening and drinking til well … you know.

5. Getting a freshly power-washed deck, so that I have a sparkling clean escape when I need to step away from the keyboard and collect my thoughts along with a few gulps of springtime air and some sunlight. Okay, this one is just something Lee planned to do today anyway. But I can make anything all about me.

7. Reading “The Regulators,” because stories where the characters are so varied and quirky and the storyline so off-the-hook absurd but yet written believably are just the kind of thing that kickstarts my own writer’s mojo.

I’m sure I’ll post more about the experience when its over - if nothing else, I’m trying something I’ve never done before!

About hawleywood40

Writer, Steelers Fan in Baltimore, Frequent Visitor to the Shot Fairy
This entry was posted in Creativity, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On Your Mark, Get Set … Write!

  1. Great post. It made me smile and I was feeling kinda grumpy. Good Luck!

  2. You actually go OUTSIDE when you’re writing???? Wow. What nerve. What stamina. I’m lucky if I look out the window…and I’ve gotta. Good luck! This should be fun!!

  3. tsonoda148 says:

    “Kickstarts my own writer’s mojo”…..I LOVE that. I could use some of that. Godspeed on your writerly efforts. No doubt you will kick some ass. Look forward to hearing all about it!

  4. Woman says:

    YAY!!!! It is always fun and challenging to try something new!!! Good luck!!!!

  5. TiffanyK says:

    I love “The Regulators” – I have it on tape and love listening to it. Good luck with the contest! I happen to be doing it too : ). Have fun!

  6. hawleywood40 says:

    Tiffany, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did – I loved the prompt and ended up with exactly what I wanted – a story I’ll run with if it doesn’t place in the contest. Hope you did also – good luck!

    • TiffanyK says:

      I feel the exact same way. I was a little worried about the prompt they would give us, but it turned out to be great. I had fun doing the contest and if it doesn’t place, I plan to expand the story and submit it somewhere else.

  7. akamonsoon says:

    That is so great! I love how you have looked at each angle of how you are going to prepare for a writing session before you even begin! It sounds like you are more than off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

